Forgot Login?   Register  
Electronic Conspicuity devices - Rebate Scheme Extended

Further the funding scheme launched in October 2020 The Department for Transport (DfT) has made available additional funding to encourage the adoption of Electronic Conspicuity (EC) within the UK’s General Aviation (GA) and Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) communities. The CAA is distributing these funds via a rebate scheme.

  • The scheme will remain open to applications until 30 September 2021 (or until the funding is used). Those meeting the requirements can claim a 50% rebate of the purchase cost of an EC device to a maximum of £250.00 (including VAT), per applicant. We anticipate up to 4,000 rebates will be available from the 01 April 2021. The previously advertised The need to purchase equipment by 28 February no longer applies.

What are the requirements to apply?

  • Funding is for carry-on or aircraft-fitted devices only. Ground system components do not qualify for this scheme.
  • Applicants can claim a single rebate of 50% - up to £250 - on EC equipment purchased.
  • Applicants to claim for equipment purchased up to 30 September 2021.
  • Funding for up to 4000 rebates from 1 April onwards.
  • If the funding allocated for 21/22 (up to 4000 rebates) is used before 30 September an earlier
    closing date will be agreed and published.
  • The need to purchase equipment by 28 February no longer applies.
  • You must produce a proof of purchase receipt.
  • You must hold at least one of the following UK issued pilot licences (UK or EASA part FCL):
  • Private Pilot’s Licence (PPL)
  • Commercial Pilot’s Licence (CPL)
  • National PPL (NPPL)
  • Sailplane Pilot’s Licence (SPL)
  • Balloon Pilot’s Licence (BPL)
  • Light Aircraft Pilot’s Licence (LAPL
  • Or be a registered member of the British Gliding Association (BGA), or a member of the British Hang Gliding and Paragliding Association (BHPA) holding a current 'Pilot' rating

    Alternatively, if you are UAS/UAV operator then you must hold an authorisation issued specifically to them by the CAA (i.e. a permission, exemption or “operational authorisation”). General Exemptions, permissions or authorisations which are aimed at a wider and non specific group of operators are not included.

For full details see the CAA Website here.

Go to top